With the restoration of the multi-party democracy in the country, in 1990 A.D., extensive reforms were made in the organizational structure of the Ministry of Home Affairs. The Zonal administration with its commissioner was dissolved. Endeavours are being made to re-structure the Home administration with a view to strengthening multi-party parliamentary system.

Basic working of the ministry

The Ministry of home affairs mainly responsible for delivering critical services to the citizens and maintain security in the nation. These functions are carried out by various offices in the region, districts, departments etc.
The CDO has been empowered with necessary authority to maintain law and order in the respective districts and he has also been made responsible to act as the representative of the central Government. The jurisdiction of the Home Ministry has been defined by Nepal Government’s (Work Division) Regulation, 1996 A.D.
There are 4 Divisions, 5 Departments, 5 Regional Administration Offices, 75 District Administration Offices, 75 District Police Offices and 73 prisons under this ministry. In addition, field offices have also been established in order to carry out the various functions assigned to this ministry
Our Vision
To make Nepal a safe and secure home for our people. The guiding moto will always keep us attached to serve the country with determination, pride and passion bonded with core values and ethics of organization.

Opening Hours


10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


10:00 AM - 3:00 PM




10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Government offices are open from 10 AM to 5 PM Sunday through Thursday in summer and from 10 AM to 4 PM in winter. On Fridays Government offices open from 10 AM to 3 PM.